From a Baby Dragon to a Mighty St. George

The Beginnings

Mr William Stewart
Mr William (Bill) Stewart
1st President

Established, Wednesday, 11th August, 1937 at the Kogarah School of Arts
With Mr. William Stewart, President, and Mr. E. Bagshaw, Hon. Secretary.
(Mr Bill Stewart was a Bexley Stamp Dealer from 1936, moving to the City in 1938.)

Early Years

After the Second World War the first “Georgepex” was held in 1958, the Society’s 21st Anniversary. Further Exhibitions were held in 1962, (25th Anniversary) 1967, (30th), 1972, (35th), 1987, (Jubilee Anniversary), and 2007, (70th Anniversary).

A History Book outlining the progress of the Society was produced. It was reported in 1974 that the Society had 120 members and was the fourth largest, out of 100 clubs in Australia.

The Society produced a Philatelic Magazine, in 1954 called “Philatales” which later became “The St. George Philatelist” from 1974. The first use of the oldSociety emblem, with scroll was seen on the cover and the Syllabus in 1948. The Society also issues an appreciation Certificate and has a Membership Badge that was produced in 1965.

In all, to date the Society has had 10 Presidents and 15 Secretaries. The Syllabus for the meetings over the years have been many and varied with Interesting displays and the club holds an Auction each night and carry Circuit Books to further members stamp collecting, and available to members.